Record 11 unions bid to host Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022

ESPN Scrum 07 May 2019 09:14
New Zealand's Black Ferns perform a haka after winning the 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens women's title in San Francisco. AFP PHOTO / Mark RALSTONMARK RALSTON/AFP/Getty Images
4:44 PM BST

World Rugby has confirmed that a record 11 unions have formally expressed interest in hosting Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022.

Argentina, Cayman Islands, France, Germany, India, Jamaica, Malaysia, Qatar, Scotland, South Africa and Tunisia confirmed expressions of interest to the international federation by the March 31 deadline.

World Rugby chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said the organisation was "delighted with the record level of interest".

"Rugby World Cup Sevens is a major event on the global sporting calendar, a fan and team favourite, and is an attractive proposition for unions and cities as a low-investment, high-return event that is great for the city and great for rugby," Beaumont said.

"With a core objective of growing the global rugby fan and participation footprint, it is superb to see new interest from emerging rugby nations, which is great for the sport.

Beaumont said the 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament in San Francisco was a resounding success.

Continue reading original article...


World RugbyRugbyWorld Rugby CouncilSir Bill BeaumontNew Zealand
You may also like